Who We Are

In June of 2020 the tribes in Maine (Mi’kmaq Nation, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, Passamaquoddy Tribe and Penobscot Nation) formed the Wabanaki Alliance. The Wabanaki Alliance was formed to educate people of Maine about the need for securing sovereignty of the tribes in Maine.

In 1980, the Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act was passed by Congress and ratified by the tribes and the State of Maine. The Settlement Act was supposed to be a living document that would be improved upon. Under political duress the tribes agreed to the Settlement Act but with the hope to continue improving the relationship between the State of Maine and the tribes. For forty years this has not happened.

Because of the 1980 Settlement Act the Tribes in Maine have had their sovereignty stripped from them. The promise of improving the Settlement Act has never been fulfilled. Now the Tribes in Maine are treated less than every other federally recognized tribe in America. The Wabanaki Alliance is not asking for special privileges but fairness by having the same or similar sovereignty as the more than 500 other tribes across America.

We ask all those who support the sovereignty of the Tribes in Maine to educate themselves on the issues, why they are important and join us in securing sovereignty.

Wabanaki Alliance Officers and Board

Wabanaki Alliance President Maulian Dana

Maulian Bryant, Penobscot Nation Ambassador

Vice President
Richard Silliboy, Vice Chief of the Mi’kmaq Nation

Osihkiyol Crofton-Macdonald, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians Ambassador

Aaron Dana, Passamaquoddy Tribal Representative in the Maine House of Representatives

Advisory Board Members

Edward Peter-Paul

Advisory Board Member
Edward Peter-Paul, Chief of the Mi’kmaq Nation

Kirk Frances

Advisory Board Member
Kirk Francis, Chief of the Penobscot Nation

Advisory Board Member
Rena Newell, Citizen of Passamaquoddy Tribe at Sipayik

Clarissa Sabattis

Board Member
Clarissa Sabattis, Chief of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians

Wabanaki Alliance Staff

Executive Director
John Dieffenbacher-Krall

Summer Fellow
Sage Phillips